In 2020, Healthy Rural California responded to the attacks against Public Health workers across the state due to COVID-19 mandates. We created our first Public Health Excellence Award to present to Andy Miller, MD as he stepped out of his role as Public Health Officer of Butte County.

The award is now called the Andy Miller, MD Public Health Excellence Award in recognition of his several years leading public health efforts through multiple disasters. As Jovanni Tricerri of North Valley Community Foundation said, Dr. Miller was the “calm in the chaos” during and after the devastating Camp Fire in late 2018. There were many other examples of Dr. Miller’s extraordinary leadership in his role as Public Health Officer.

Healthy Rural California presented the award to 3 other Public Health Officers in 2020 – Dr. Phuong Luu of Yuba-Sutter counties, Dr. Karen Ramstrom of Shasta County and Dr. Aimee Sisson who was with Placer County and since moved to Yolo County.

Our 2021 awards will be presented to Dr. Jared Garrison, Public Health Officer of Glenn County, for his hard work encouraging COVID-19 vaccinations. We will also present awards to the Substance Use Navigation leadership team at Enloe Medical Center – Dr. James Moore and Jake Miller. Their effort to launch the SUN program in 2019 is essential to promoting public health in the region, especially as the pandemic led to an increase in overdoses in the summer of 2020.

2021 awards will be presented to the leadership team of Healthy Rural California’s Graduate Medical Education program and will be announced later this fall. We are grateful to all our partners who work tirelessly to establish the first-ever Psychiatry Residency in Northern Butte County and deserve to be recognized for what will have a positive impact on the health of our community.

If you would like to nominate someone for the 2022 award, please email Kristy Bird MaKieve, CEO, at kmakieve@healthyruralca.org.